Dedan Kimathi University of Technology started as a community project in 1972 known as Kimathi Institute of Technology (KIT), opening doors to its first students in 1978. KIT rapidly emerged as a leading institution in the country in the training of Certified Public Accountants.It was upgraded to University status in 2007, and renamed Kimathi University College of Technology (KUCT), a constituent college of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology .This institution operated as a constituent college for five years until 14th December, 2012 when it was upgraded to full university status after being granted a charter and renamed Dedan Kimathi University of Technology (DKUT).


  • School of Engineering
  • School of Business
  • School of computer science and IT
  • School of Science
  • School of Health Sciences


  • Institute of Geomatics, GIS & (IGGRS)
  • Institute of Tourism and Hospitality Mgt.
  • Institute of food bioresources technology
  • Technical And Professional Studies (ITPS)

University Website: