The origin of Technical University of Mombasa (TUM) can be traced back to the late 1940’s as a result of the consultations pioneered by Sir Philip Mitchell in 1948 between The Aga Khan, the Sultan of Zanzibar, the Secretary of State for the colonies, Sir Bernard Reilly and H. M. Treasury. Out of these consultations, Mombasa Institute of Muslim Education (MIOME) was founded from capital raised by means of gifts. In May 1951, MIOME enrolled its first batch of students to undergo a technical education programme. In 1972, MIOME was renamed Mombasa Technical Institute and eventually, The Mombasa Polytechnic. In January 2013, Mombasa Polytechnic was awarded a university charter and transformed into Technical University of Mombasa. The university is located on Tom Mboya Street in the coastal city of Mombasa.


  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Computing and Information Technology
  • Building and Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Medical Engineering
  • Pure and Applied Sciences
  • Medical Sciences
  • Environmental and Health Sciences
  • Mathematics and Physics
  • Business Studies
  • Media and Graphic Design
  • Hospitality and Tourism
  • Liberal Studies and Community Development

University Website: