University of Nairobi

On 20th May 1964, the Royal College Nairobi had been renamed as a constituent college of inter-territorial, Federal University of East Africa. Nairobi University came into being as the first national university in Kenya after the transformation of University College Nairobi in 1970. It was established by an Act of Parliament Cap 210 of the Laws of Kenya as the pioneer institution of University education in Kenya and the region. Nairobi University is located in Nairobi City.

In 1983 the University was restructured by creation of six colleges headed by principals. The following are the names and respective locations of the colleges:

  1. College of Agriculture & Veterinary Sciences -Upper Kabete Campus
  2. College of Architecture & Engineering – Main Campus
  3. College of Biological & Physical Sciences – Chiromo Campus
  4. College of Education & External Studies – Kikuyu Campus
  5. College of Health Sciences – Kenyatta National Hospital
  6. College of Humanities and Social sciences; Faculty of Arts- Main Campus, Faculty of Law- Parklands, and Faculty of Commerce -Lower Kabete Campus